Coloring steel rings
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Articles Discussion

Submissions: 29

Coloring steel rings
Posted on Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:29 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hey i am new to the whole chain mail thing, and i am working on a shirt/trench coat, and i was wanting to add some color to it. So i was wondering if you knew other ways to get diffrent collors of steel, like red, blue, orange, yellow. Any help would be greatly appreacheated

coloring galvy
Posted on Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:18 pm

i need help please

Submissions: 0

Posted on Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:01 am

Heating the rings to certain temperatures will color them... But if you're using galvy, the zinc fumes could kill you...

Submissions: 582

Posted on Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:37 am

If it's galvy you're using, you can turn the rings a very dark grey- almost black if you soak the rings in either hydrogen peroxide, or lemon juice, or a combination thereof for roughly 20 - 30 minutes. If you leave the rings in too long, the zinc coating will completely strip off and you will be left with plain steel rings. Any experiment with modifiying rings in any manner such as this should be done with a small test batch first.

Chainmailbasket.com (2019-01-01) - 376 + 79

Posted on Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:38 am

If it's galvy you're using, you can turn the rings a very dark grey- almost black if you soak the rings in either hydrogen peroxide, or lemon juice, or a combination thereof for roughly 20 - 30 minutes. If you leave the rings in too long, the zinc coating will completely strip off and you will be left with plain steel rings. Any experiment with modifiying rings in any manner such as this should be done with a small test batch first.

coloring galvy
Posted on Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:27 pm