Things I Learned Today
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 9

Things I Learned Today
Posted on Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:28 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

or: let me write this down so I don't forget (and maybe it'll help someone else).

I'm really in love with Lorraine's Turkish Orbital earrings. So I've been trying to recreate them.

I've discovered a couple of things: she said she did them in 20 gauge (awg) 4.75 mm links, which would be an AR of 5.94. The Turkish Orbital info says that the idea AR is 6.6.

What I've learned: I think Lorraine probably hit the minimum AR (which isn't listed). I was using 20 awg 3/16" rings, with an AR of 6.0, and it was really difficult. Could be because I'm a newbie, but I think it's also because I was getting close to the minimum AR. I'm tempted, but also hesitant, to work with the same rings that she did as they're a bit smaller. I was also thinking of finding rings in AR 6.6 and I worry if they won't brace each other the way the ones at 6.6 do, which is important when the earring is assembled. In other words, the ideal AR for a weave may not necessarily be its ideal AR for a specific application.

earring parts in a temporary holding pattern

I also learned: it's useful to use t-head pins and a kid's foam mat square (as well as those chainmail mats they give you if you shop at Weave Got Mail). I must have dropped my work a bajillion times (and emitted a similar number of profanities) before I hit up on the idea of pinning the work down. The hardest thing is attaching the orbital rings: there's a very specific and small "bottleneck" for them to go around, and the pins keep wanting to jump and flip. Pinning them down really helps.

setting up

orbital ring in place