Help with Ring Sizes
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Weaves Discussion

Submissions: 0

Help with Ring Sizes
Posted on Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:28 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I am still relatively new at chainmaille. I have made several bracelets and necklaces but they have been on the easy side. Looking to make a Hand Flower, and I have found the design I want, but the ring sizes listed, I cannot find anywhere, at least not exactly. Is there anyone that can help me understand what would work size wise?

Thank you
Amber

Submissions: 100

Posted on Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:35 pm

you would have to link us to the hand flower you are referring to. or at the very least let us in on what ring sizes they are.

Posted on Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:46 pm

The suggested Materials are the following per tutorial:

1.2mm 5/32" (3.97mm)ID
0.8mm 1/8" (3.18mm)ID

I understand the ID stands for Inner Diameter.

Then on down in the tutorial is says to use 16G 5/32" and 20g 1/8". I just can't find these exact sizes anywhere but on the website I got the tutorial and the materials come from Australia. I'm not willing to pay the extra surcharges to have it shipped. I know that sounds bad, but it is rather expensive.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Posted on Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:48 pm

If making your own rings is outside of your current box, The Ring Lord would probably have what you're looking for in any number of metals.

http://theringlord.com/

For example, in bright aluminum, machine cut...

http://theringlord.com/cart/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=16&cat=Machine+Cut+Bright+Aluminum+Jump+Rings

The Gauge gets a little tricky, as you need to know whether the site is giving you measurements in AWG or SWG. As they (your handflower site) were helpful enough to give you the diameter of the wire, looking at the stats on the TRL site, you can see in the fine print that their 18G is the same diameter (1.2 mm) as the listed 16G on your site in Australia.