Turk's Head Knot Ring Mk II (Images)
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Should I post other wire but not mail stuff like this?
Yes
90%
 90%  [ 10 ]
No
9%
 9%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 11

Submissions: 21

Turk's Head Knot Ring Mk II (Images)
Posted on Tue Jul 31, 2007 3:31 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

Just finished my second Turk's Head Knot Ring, 5 instead of 3 leads (and 9 bights instead of 7, it's definitely better than the first, it took about 6 hours casual work, but I'm still learning little tricks to improve the result, so I already know the next one will be better, what does my head in is the rings that seem to have no space between the leads, hopefully I'll work out how that trick is done, it looks awesome and I suspect makes the rings much stronger. anyways on to the photos ...

The ring just after I've taken it off the jig. (That's what I call it anyway cos i think ring rig sounds silly Razz

The ring back on the rig as it shows detail better (the back of the ring isn't mixed with the front this way

The ring after stretching to suit my thumb (used a pool cue ... it seemed to work a treat but the cue looks a little the worse for wear)

The good side of the ring after stretching

The join, instead of soldering which proved troublesome for me on the first ring I've settled for hooking the wire back around another lead, worked easily and well, but not very elegant ... I'll need to find a better solution.

and the set of tools apart from wire cutters and the ring jig that I used in making the ring

Maille Code V2.0 T5.4 R4.5 Eo.p Fj12.2 MFe.s Wg$i C$p G0.5-1.5 I1.2-10.8 N16.16 Pt Dcejt Xa6g14 S07 Hc
Articles - Byzantine Speed Weaving - Poor Man's Tumbler - Ring Jig - Turk's Head Knot Ring - Wire Winding
Maille - Belt - Choker w. Padlock - Collar - Collar with Twist - Cuffs - Cuff 2 - Decorative Chains - DS Belt - Maille Cuffs - Micro Ring - T Shirt - Vambrace - Watch Band - Watch Chain
Non-maille - Ring - Ring Mk II