Which wire type is best for jewelry?
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 95

Which wire type is best for jewelry?
Posted on Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:33 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I'm fairly new to chainmaille (just started learning last year) and have a question. Is varnished wire of nonvarnished wire best to use on jewelry? I've used some of each and the coating on the varnished wire tends to get all scratched up and then all the marks from the pliers tarnish were as the rest of the wire stays bright. And yet the nonvarnished wire tarnishes very quickly, but is easier to clean. I don't mind having to clean the nonvarnished wire, but as I'm making the jewelry to try and sell I was wondering which type is best to use.

Insistence is futile.

We are the Quartz, lower your shovels and surrender your rocks. We will add your gemological and mineralogical distinctiveness to our own. You will adapt to service us. Resistance is rutile.

Deviant Art
Handmaden Designs LLC Facebook
Handmade Artists Shop
https://twitter.com/HandmadenDesign
http://pinterest.com/handmadendesign/
http://handmadendesigns.com

Submissions: 6

Posted on Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:48 pm

I've seen tape used to prevent the teeth on pliers from marring the rings. I use duct tape but the person I got the idea from was using masking tape, I think.

What kind of wire do you use?

Submissions: 7

Posted on Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:03 pm

sorry but not any good help here... i make armor mostly though i am gunna start making some jewelry soon...

flare(sorry no help...)

If I am, then death is not. If death is, then I am not. Why should I fear that which cannot exist when I do?

Submissions: 3

Posted on Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:17 pm

WOW!!! Yet another Michigan mailler.