Maille Classes
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Maille Classes
Posted on Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:24 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

I am new to maille and find it difficult to learn by text and pictures. Can someone tell me how to find an instructor in my area? I am in Tulsa, OK.

BeadCatz

Submissions: 26

Posted on Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:19 pm

I dont really know how you can find an instructor. Post a want add or something Razz. The best thing I can recommend is just keep practicing with what you have available right now. Trust me, it will become easier.

Submissions: 1

Posted on Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:25 pm

I dont know if it helps, but I had a hard time using tutorials that had photographs. Sometimes the pictures didnt catch a good angle on the piece so it was confusing. I stuck with the tutorials with computer-generated images and seemed to succeed fairly well. Mainly because you can use different colors easily and there's no need to worry about surfaces, lighting, or other things getting in the way.

The old adage definitely applies though. "Practice makes perfect."

If one weave seems a little difficult, put it down and do another one. Come back after you've succeeded at something. This way you dont discourage yourself too much by one weave or another.

"Is all that we see or seem
but a dream within a dream?"
-Edgar Allen Poe, 1827

Posted on Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:21 pm

Have you contacted your local chapter of the SCA? Everybody in the organization recognizes what chain maille is, and most can at least do euro 4-1... and many can at least point you in the right direction to do other stuff. It might be worth the time to check them out.

Submissions: 0

Posted on Tue Feb 15, 2005 7:17 am