Need some advice on an extremely important chain....
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Need some advice on an extremely important chain....
Posted on Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:45 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello all, this is my first time posting here, although I am a long-time lurker.

I'm in a bit of a jam, as I've been tasked to make an incredibly important chain for a close family friend. Length is no trouble, neither is style; he wants it around 70cm long (the client is a fairly beefy guy) and he wants it in JPL5, which is a favourite weave of mine, so that's all great too.

Over the summer, I showed him my chain that I made for myself from 19G 3/16" stainless steel from TRL. It's kinda chunky, and on me it feels like a pretty hefty chain (I'm pretty thin and small so anything feels big and chunky on me.)

I'm currently in the materials-purchase-planning phase of the project, and I've hit two major snarls. For a start, I'm wondering if it might be good to go with a smaller ring size; 20G 5/32 will apparently also work for this, although I don't have any rings in that size to try it out myself. Would a thinner chain be better? He's a pretty active guy, and he wants to wear this chain all the time, and that's because....

...Problem 2: He's got his own pendant for it, made of silver. I'll spare you the details, but suffice to say the pendant is the last gift from the woman he loved. I do NOT want to screw this up.

I also know that steel and silver don't really play nice together. How should I fashion the bail/holding ring to make damn sure the pendant doesn't get scratched? How would you fashion it so it doesn't fall off? Has anyone ever done anything like this before?

I am getting paid, for the record; but making a chain out of silver is within neither of our budgets. That and i'm operating out of a dorm currently, and I don't have a link welder.