Forars Kaede (X-Weave)
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Weaves Discussion

Submissions: 9

Forars Kaede (X-Weave)
Posted on Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:22 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I'm noticing -- perhaps running smack into -- a lack of agreement between the [weave=Forars Kaede] weave page and Corvus' tutorial on how to do the weave.

The weave page states that the minimum AR is 4.1, the ideal is 4.4, and the max is 4.8.

Based on the max AR being 4.8, I purchased some 22 awg 7/64" rings, with an AR of 4.6. I thought it'd be okay.

Now looking at the tutorial, Corvus states that 4.1-4.2 is the idea range, that the weave is very "AR-sensitive", and that anything less than this won't let you weave and anything greater will be loose.

I was having a LOT of problems trying to weave with the small stainless rings. Now, it could be that I'm a newbie and this is a very small piece to work, but I found that the rings were shifting and the whole thing just wasn't holding together. I am completely willing to chalk this up to inexperience.

However, I broke out the 1.2" polycarbonate rings I bought for The Next Generation and was able to weave them without any problems. They're hella big compared to what I work with, which is probably why it was much easier, but they are also 12.7mm / 2.9mm, meaning an AR of 4.4, which is the ideal AR as listed by the weave page.

Am I crazy? I'm thinking that maybe the AR should be MAX 4.4, min 4.1, ideal, 4.2 (or something like that), and that my teeny rings are not only teeny, but have too big of an AR.

Can anyone who's really familiar with Forars Kaede let me know what you think? Thanks in advance!

Submissions: 28

Posted on Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:06 am

I'll point out that there is an editors note on X-weave / Spring Chain / Forars Kaede.
Quote: