Newb here with questions about sleeves
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Newb here with questions about sleeves
Posted on Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:05 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello! I'm new to making mail (working on my Halloween costume to be a Viking this year). I'm curious as to how to go about making my sleeves for my tunic. I'll want them short (it's hot down here in FL). Needing to add them to a tank style tunic. Any suggestions will be much appreciated. I'm learned in 4-1 and have been using nothing but machine cut split rings. I'd post a photo of my progress but don't know how

Submissions: 8

Posted on Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:22 am

Welcome! Why not use jump rings? They are cheaper than split rings. Although you may have the terms mixed up and are already using jump rings.

You have to upload your image to your website or an image hosting website. Then you can embed it here using the link.

Submissions: 378

Posted on Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:51 am

there has been debate before about whether it's better to have sleeves lay open or closed (the lay direction of the e4). i think, traditionally, the sleeves are open. but that's for long sleeves. the argument is that the sleeves are easier to move in when the weave is open. the hardest part is the arm pits. many attempts have been made, but i've not seen a good arm pit design. i've never made sleeves myself, so i don't know for sure how to do it, but i have some ideas. the best idea i can think of for the arm pits is to make an e4 expanding circle for each. then, expand the e4 pattern as needed with seams opening and closing where needed. the great thing about the e4 expanding circle is that you can contour the e4 weave to fit any custom curve. after the e4 expanding circle, i would say the best design is chainmaille basket's triangular seam design. both articles are below.

http://www.mailleartisans.org/articles/articledisplay.php?key=668