How do you name weaves
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Weaves Discussion

Submissions: 0

How do you name weaves
Posted on Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:45 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I only started learning chainmaille a little over a year ago and tried making a weave that I hadn't yet learned with rings of improper AR from memory. Wound up making a weave that I haven't seen anywhere else online. It is an altered Helm's Chain, but I have no real name for it past "specialty weave" for it. Is there a way to actually name new weaves, or is it just pull names out of a hat?

Submissions: 30

Posted on Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:21 am

You can name it analytically if you can recognize its technical structure or you can just give it any name you think sounds right for the weave. I wouldn't call it specialty weave though because that's very non-descriptive. Maybe post a pic and we can suggest names?

Submissions: 96

Posted on Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:17 pm

There are two (major) schools of thought when it comes to weave naming: creative names and technical names. They both have their pros and cons.

Some like to keep the names all technical so you know exactly what the weave is. Pros: helpful for understanding weave relation Cons: they tend to get very long, because of this some find them very boring and difficult to remember.

Those that find technical names to long/boring, generally chose the 'creative' name choice. The name may be based on what the weave reminds them of, how much trouble it gave them, their frustration level while making it, the name could be sentimental (named after a family member or pet), etc. Really, the name can be anything you want it to be. Pros: the name tends to be more fun and less clinical; easier to remember and gets your attention more than a long, technical name. Cons: sometimes they can confuse the matter of weave relation. Have more of a risk of being misleading because the name may be too close to an unrelated weave.