Accidental Mailling
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Chat

Submissions: 0

Accidental Mailling
Posted on Sat Dec 05, 2015 12:16 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello everyone,

I'm new and I thought I'd post a quick intro here since the intro thread that appeared when I registered didn't appear to have any activity since around 2010.

My name is Tim and I live in central NY. I'm an analyst during the day and I've been a hobbyist jeweler for about 7 years. So, about a year ago I had a friend (who is a hobbyist accessories designer) come to me and ask for something cool to embellish a handbag he was designing. So, I sat down at my bench and made a panel out of jump rings that I thought gave it a unique look. I was pretty proud of it as I'd never made anything like this before. Showed it to a friend of mine (active in SCA) who basically said:

"Yeah, that's great. It's called a European 4-in-1."

Well, I felt a little silly about that as I thought I was exceedingly clever. Then again, it's kind of cool that I stumbled upon it just by tinkering. Anyway, I have taken to Mailling right now because I have a small child at home who requires both attention and safety and so I've packed up a lot of my jewelry equipment. Chainmail, however, is something I can leave and come back to with very little set up time (so it's the perfect sort of thing to just pick up and drop when naps begin and end).

Anyway, I've decided to practice a bit more often and try to learn some new and exciting weaves. And I enjoy a good discussion forum so I thought I'd come by and get a sense of community out of this hobby as well.

I look forward to meeting and chatting with all of you.

Submissions: 106

Posted on Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:20 am