Question
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Question
Posted on Thu Jun 12, 2014 8:56 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello!

I'm new to this and have been working with 14 gauge galvanized steel, making rings with an ID of 3/8 inch.

It didn't take long to discover that cutting rings with 8" bolt cutters was a blisteringly slow process. But during my research, I've come to realize that there are many hazards with speeding up the cutting of galvanized steel as it is coated with zinc.

I've found myself quickly leaning towards other, safer materials. I have a dremel and a koil kutter jig, but I'm not using this on the galvanized steel as I'm concerned about health hazards.

I considered buying a ringinator, but they're just so expensive, and I don't want to spend that kind of money at the moment.

The 14 gauge and ID of 3/8" have been working out great so far, but I'd like to start cutting rings more cleanly and more efficiently.

I'm thinking iron would be good, or non-galvanized steel, but I'm having trouble finding these materials in the gauge I want to use, and I'm still not sure what material I should go with.

Any advice is welcome! IE, quick cutting methods, good/non-toxic metals, where to buy spools of these metals, etc.

Thanks!! Smile

Submissions: 1

Posted on Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:48 pm

Zinc dust is not bad. Wear a paper mask, or wet the sawcutting well with cutting fluid or water to lube and cool, and make the zinc dust into metal slurry.

Breathing vaporized zinc will give you a sick headache.