To jig or not to jig
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

To jig or not to jig
Posted on Sat May 10, 2014 3:13 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hi, I'm fairly new to the craft. I'm currently working on a euro 6 in 1 with 14 gauge galvsteel. As of now I'm making my rings by hand, using a copper pipe. Would it be worth it to invest in a jig to help with the proccess or is the benefit not worth the investment?

Submissions: 1

Posted on Sat May 10, 2014 4:58 pm

I'm also fairly new, but I'd say you should definitely buy a couple of different sized mandrels to coil your wire on, also a drill or screwdriver is very efficient when coiling too.

I don't have a jig myself, but I just use a mandrel and a drill in my lap and it works great so far, no problems or inconvenience.

Posted on Sat May 10, 2014 5:26 pm

Thanks for the reply.
That's kindof what I was thinking, I can coil up my wire fairly quickly using my jury rigged mandrel, if awkwardly. However, in the future I will want to make different diameter projects than the one I'm doing right now which means buying a jig or expanding my collection of copper pipes.

Submissions: 5

Posted on Sat May 10, 2014 10:14 pm

Give this thread a read for some helpful tips on winding your own coils.

Mostly Harmless

Posted on Sat May 10, 2014 10:22 pm

I use mild steel rod for larger sizes, tool steel for smaller sizes.
Most supplies will have 3/16-1" in 1/8" increments.
McMaster, enco, fastenel, and other shops have tool steel in 1/128" increments and metric.
For hand coiling I use a pair of vice grips as a crank handle.
Steel is a lot cheaper then copper.

Re: To jig or not to jig
Posted on Sun May 11, 2014 4:46 am

BLINDBARD wrote:
As of now I'm making my rings by hand, using a copper pipe. Would it be worth it to invest in a jig to help with the proccess or is the benefit not worth the investment?

YES.