ISO: Commission for soldered bracelet
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Trading Room

Submissions: 0

ISO: Commission for soldered bracelet
Posted on Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:28 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello!

So, I am looking to see if there are any artists who might be interested in/able to create a bracelet with the weave linked below. The bracelet should be designed for 24/7 wear. I have tried multiple times to have this bracelet made and each time it has fallen apart within a week or two (tried both a sterling silver and sterling silver-coated stainless steel). I believe the only solution is to find someone willing to solder the rings closed. (Please feel free to educate me on alternatives; I'm new to chainmaille but have loved everything I've seen Smile).

Desired weave: http://www.mailleartisans.org/weaves/weavedisplay.php?key=662 . I absolutely adore this one, but if there are reasons why another weave may be better, please let me know!

If you think you may be interested in putting this piece together and perhaps providing a quote (or if you have any advice on increasing the durability of a chainmaille piece), please let me know!

Thank you!
Sarah

Submissions: 100

Posted on Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:22 pm

IMO that weave would be better suited for stainless steel as the softer metal would be likely to deform in a less dense weave like this even when soldered. also I'm curious,, what do you know about its flexibility? does it only bend the one way like a tight AR helm chain?

Posted on Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:42 pm

It's a fairly flexible weave and bends well. The artist I originally commissioned originally mistook this for an AR helm chain and cautioned me on the weave's inflexibility but the Draco Esse does not seem to have any of these problems.