CGMAILLE Tutorials
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Articles Discussion

Submissions: 1

CGMAILLE Tutorials
Posted on Wed May 22, 2013 10:51 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hi,

I have read the terms of use written by phong but i fail to see if i can link to his tutorials from my site. Let me clarify that it is a commercial site thus:

"The free tutorials listed on this site are to be used for private, non-commercial use only. They may not be used for public display, given or sold without express prior written consent."

I'm not a lawyer but still even though i'm not selling the tutorials do i violate the copyrigh laws by linking to them from my site?

Actually i tried to P.M. him but the message stays in my outbox.

A second question is and i believe phong is the right person to answer. My main customer group is ladies around 45-70 years old with no skills in the English language. I am thinking of translating the tutorials in Swedish but it will be in vain without using the pictures. A solution would be to use google translate for inline translation which technically is not violating any copyrights.

If you read this Phong drop me a PM. I'm commercially interested in the tutorials.

BR
/C

Submissions: 22

Re: CGMAILLE Tutorials
Posted on Wed May 22, 2013 11:46 am

Carolides wrote:
1) I am thinking of translating the tutorials in Swedish but it will be in vain without using the pictures. 2) A solution would be to use google translate for inline translation which technically is not violating any copyrights.

1)
I don't know about Sweden law, but under French law it is NOT legal to translate something without prior authorisation. Using or not the images is irrelevant (well, using them would be a second copyright infraction).

2)
The license terms you just quoted says: "They may not be used for public display, given or sold without express prior written consent.".