Double turkish round
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Weaves Discussion

Submissions: 0

Double turkish round
Posted on Sun May 20, 2012 9:20 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hi everyone! I'm a total newbie when it comes to maille. I have been experimenting with some rings I got at a craft store. I have don't know much about the rings, just that they are made out of metal (duh) and have an outer diameter of 7mm.

So, yesterday I made a braclet in the turkis round weave, however, the rings I used had a too high AR. So, to get some stability into the braclet I used two rings where there is one ring in the original turkish round weave.

So what do I call this? Just Turkish round with double rings? I'd be totally greatful for any help in figuring this out Smile

[/code]

Posted on Sun May 20, 2012 9:55 pm

I think it would be called kinged turkish round ('kinged' meaning that all the rings are doubled), I don't know if there's a special name for it.

Posted on Sun May 20, 2012 10:23 pm

That sounds logical! Thanks for the reply Smile

Posted on Mon May 21, 2012 3:29 pm

No problem, glad I could help! Smile

Submissions: 11

Posted on Mon May 21, 2012 5:26 pm

Yeah, I would also say kinged turkish round. That's a really beautiful piece. I think I need to make some rings and try that in micromaille sizes. Looks like it would make a rockin' necklace. Smile

Posted on Mon May 21, 2012 7:37 pm

Jax25 wrote:
Yeah, I would also say kinged turkish round. That's a really beautiful piece. I think I need to make some rings and try that in micromaille sizes. Looks like it would make a rockin' necklace. Smile

Thank you Smile I'm going to make a necklace too, though it will probably look better if it was smaller. Mine is over 10mm across, it makes for some robust jewelry ^^;