Fading or Meshing colors
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Fading or Meshing colors
Posted on Tue May 08, 2012 6:27 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hi I'm new to the world of chainmail and it is great. But to the question, I was wondering if their is a good rule for fading or meshing (not sure what to call it) one color to another or one color to BA? Confused Is their any articles or even tutorials on this. I cant find too many pics of this done.
thanks in advance

Submissions: 106

Posted on Tue May 08, 2012 7:06 pm

I think it's called color fading. With rings, you are kind of stuck with the colors the rings come in and deciding for yourself what looks nice together. One thing that I think looks nice is to use the order of colors that titanium and niobium naturally anodize in. Spiderchain has good pictures of this.

These are the pages you get when you do a search on "Anodized" in the gallery. You might find some color combinations you like in there.
http://www.mailleartisans.org/gallery/gallerylist.php?tags=Anodized&page=1&norecs=50

"I am a leaf on the wind." ~ Wash
Lorraine's Chains
Gallery Submission Guidelines

Submissions: 0

:)
Posted on Wed May 09, 2012 4:16 pm

Thats some great stuff but i wsa more curious about in a weave going from one color to the next in like a fading manner. sorry im not too descriptive. like say you have HP3in1 and went from red to bright aluminum, is there a good rule to bring them together not just end red then go into BA. sorry for the confusion i think thats what it would be called but if its called something else i would like to know.
thanks

Submissions: 79

Posted on Wed May 09, 2012 5:12 pm

gradient? is that the word you are seeking?

PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Submissions: 10

Posted on Wed May 09, 2012 5:59 pm