Chainmaille Backpack Advice?
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Chainmaille Backpack Advice?
Posted on Fri May 04, 2012 5:33 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I'm going back to public school in August, and I want to make a small backpack out of chainmaille. Not too big, not too small. Not like a huge thing. Just like a small portable backpack. I'm a newbie, and I kinda think I know where to begin. But I'm not sure.

What I want it to look like, is like a large dice bag, with a flap. Make a round bottom and so on and so forth, with a triangle flap and the straps last.

I'm going to use aluminum wire, I have 17 gauge right now. Should I wait to get 16 gauge or a thicker gauge of wire?

How should I start out making it? All advice is appreciated! Thanks.

-Cyn

"Good people are good because they've come to wisdom through failure. We get very little wisdom from success, you know." - William Saroyan

Submissions: 100

Posted on Fri May 04, 2012 8:36 pm

I can't see aluminum holding up to the stress of a backpack very well. Maybe in a really tight AR, something like 12gauge 5/16", though that would get pretty heavy.

Submissions: 79

Posted on Fri May 04, 2012 9:57 pm

i would stainless.

i do not trust aluminum, especially for a high-stress item.

PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Posted on Sat May 05, 2012 3:55 am

I'm just using it for maybe 2 spiral notebooks, a novel and pens and pencils. Other than that, I wouldn't use it for anything really heavy. But I do have 14 gauge gal. steel. That'd do it, but it'd be hard for me to bend. *Weak girl* And it'd probably take 5 times longer. Does anyone think the 16 gauge aluminum would hold up to those few items?

Thanks for the advice!

"Good people are good because they've come to wisdom through failure. We get very little wisdom from success, you know." - William Saroyan

Submissions: 100

Posted on Sat May 05, 2012 5:55 am