Submissions: 0

Hauberk Tube
Posted on Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:22 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello all Smile

In regards to this article:
http://www.mailleartisans.org/articles/articledisplay.cgi?key=6844

Quote:
How big should [the main hauberk section] be? It should be as big around as your chest measurement plus ten inches, measured with the mail at its fullest stretch

Can anybody verify this? Common sense tells me 10'/25cm would make it too wide. I understand the need for a lot of slack but could somebody clarify this measurement, as I'm an unashamed newbie. Smile

I'd be grateful for further instruction.

Regards
Atelier

Submissions: 150

Posted on Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:41 pm

You have shoulders, yes? So (let) just measure around your shoulders, and compare the chest plus 10" (not 10' as in your post) and shoulder data. You will notice, that the rule-of-thumb formula works fairly well.

And btw: If you plan to wear a padded gambeson below the hauberk, take it into account, by measuring while wearing it.

-ZiLi-

Maille Code V2.0 T7.1 R5.6 Ep Fper Mfe.s Ws$ Cpbsw$ G0.3-6.4 I1.0-30.0 N28.25 Pj Dacdejst Xagtw S08 Hi

Human societies are like chain mail.
A single link will be worth nothing.
A chain is of use, but will break at the weakest link.
A weak weave will have the need to replace weak links.
A strong weave will survive even with weak links included.
-'me

Submissions: 6

Posted on Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:48 pm

Welcome,