Ring Size Chart in Weaves
View previous topic | View next topic >
Post new topic Reply to topic
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> M.A.I.L. Help
   
Author Message

Joined: December 22, 2007
Posts: 4610
Submissions: 106
Location: Hampton, Virginia USA

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:36 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I switched from Firefox to IE8. Now when I hover over AR, the popup box appears halfway off the screen. No matter where I move and hover. Sad


"I am a leaf on the wind." ~ Wash
Lorraine's Chains
Gallery Submission Guidelines

Joined: January 21, 2004
Posts: 1061
Submissions: 75

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:14 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

lorraine wrote:
I switched from Firefox to IE8.


Well there's yer problem.

-phong



-- CGMaille tutorials now hosted here at MAIL! --

Joined: December 22, 2007
Posts: 4610
Submissions: 106
Location: Hampton, Virginia USA

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:10 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Phong wrote:
lorraine wrote:
I switched from Firefox to IE8.


Well there's yer problem.

-phong

Doooood! You are so helpful!


"I am a leaf on the wind." ~ Wash
Lorraine's Chains
Gallery Submission Guidelines

Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:12 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

lorraine wrote:
Phong wrote:
lorraine wrote:
I switched from Firefox to IE8.


Well there's yer problem.

-phong

Doooood! You are so helpful!


Yeah, there's a JS Bug in IE8 regarding this...
It's unrelated to the HTML Rendering of the site, it's JS related, so it's a pain for me to track down.
I believe it's fixed in the upcoming IE9...

Ironic really, I had to use Javascript because FireFox ignores the HTML code that can do this...



Joined: May 07, 2008
Posts: 3615
Submissions: 149
Location: Germany, Herxheim

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:36 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

lorraine: Did you already test switching on/off 'compatibility view mode' in IE8? - I know that switching the mode sometimes drastically changes the behavior of the rollover menus - from not working at all due to a pixel-wide gap between rollover menu items, to working satisfactory - and vice-versa...

-ZiLi-


Maille Code V2.0 T7.1 R5.6 Ep Fper MAl Ws$ Cpbsw$ G0.3-6.4 I1.0-30.0 N28.25 Ps Dacdejst Xagtw S08 Hip

Human societies are like chain mail.
A single link will be worth nothing.
A chain is of use, but will break at the weakest link.
A weak weave will have the need to replace weak links.
A strong weave will survive even with weak links included.
-'me

Joined: December 22, 2007
Posts: 4610
Submissions: 106
Location: Hampton, Virginia USA

Reply with quote
Posted on Sat Sep 04, 2010 12:43 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

I forgot all about that. It works in Compatibility View. Thanks Zili!


"I am a leaf on the wind." ~ Wash
Lorraine's Chains
Gallery Submission Guidelines

Joined: March 26, 2002
Posts: 1859
Submissions: 522
Location: Chainmailland, Chainmailia

Reply with quote
Posted on Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:10 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

It is mandatory that decimal inches be added to 'Wire Diameter / Gauge System'. Sorry if this has come up before, I have not read through this whole thread.


Chainmailbasket.com (2019-01-01) - 376 + 79

Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Reply with quote
Posted on Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:52 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

David_Austin wrote:
It is mandatory that decimal inches be added to 'Wire Diameter / Gauge System'. Sorry if this has come up before, I have not read through this whole thread.


Daemon_Lotos wrote:
Pfeiffer wrote:
I hate to be a pain, but I actually prefer to use DECIMAL INCHES for wire sizes (0.063" instead of 16swg, for example). I just never feel completely sure what I am dealing with anytime I see a gauge system.

Decimal millimeters are good, and I'd like to use more metric. But I use primarily stainless welding wire and it is all in decimal inch sizes, and that is not going to change.

I would imagine others have the same issue. This is a fantastic addition and I am glad to see it implemented!


I also use a LOT of welding wire, and you'll find almost all of it is measured in nominal SWG or AWG sizes. (IE: .048" = 18g SWG / .0508" = 18g AWG)
AWG Also has a 'Metric' version... (1.024mm = 18g AWG) This is coming as well.

I believe all Stainless Steel welding wire is measured in SWG Decimal Inches, but I could be wrong with the 'all' factor... I am 'north-of-the-border' after all.

The big issue, is that without knowing exactly which Gauge System the wire is trying to be (AWG or SWG) the decimal inches will never match up to what the user can buy, unless the user knows what system the wire is...

I'm planning to impliment this, but the user will still need to know if the wire they have purchased is AWG or SWG in decimal inches.


Decimal Inches are tricky... Unlike wire in mm, which is usually .25mm increments, or thereabouts... There is no 'standard' for decimal inched wire... I can convert the existing gauge systems to Decimal Inch, and/or put in a "basic" .0125", or whatever, incremental system... But it will never factor out correctly...

Unless someone can come up with a suggestion that I've missed, that is...



Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Reply with quote
Posted on Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:30 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

lorraine wrote:
I forgot all about that. It works in Compatibility View. Thanks Zili!


You can safely turn compatability view off... This is fixed now, with different Javascript (required to fix a similar bug in the IE9 Release Candidate)



Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Re: Ring Size Chart in Weaves
Reply with quote
Posted on Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:08 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Daemon_Lotos wrote:
Wire Size
-American Wire Gauge/Brown & Sharpe
-Standard Wire Gauge
-Metric Wire (In .2mm Increments)
-Mixed Gauge
-----------------------------------------
Edit: As of February 13, 2011, the following options have been added:
AWG, SWG & Mixed Gauge are now available in their native Gauge System, OR in Decimal Inches OR in mm.
Some people's heads just work better in one system than another, and I'm making an effort to accomodate this.


So, uh, that Very Happy

I'm still working on the code nessecary to incorporate kodiak's mandrel set as an option for ID... But it makes my brain melt...



Joined: May 07, 2008
Posts: 3615
Submissions: 149
Location: Germany, Herxheim

Reply with quote
Posted on Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:07 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

DL: Don't overdo it - it's sufficiently well coded already.

And in the long run, if really precise IDs are needed for an AR sensitive weave, springback and kerf compensation have to be done anyway - at this point a mailler usually has acquired sufficient knowledge to deal with AR number and some maths on her/his own. And if e.g. Aspect Ratio Calculator - Next Generation is used (I do so for all quick estimates), even the maths can be 'delegated'...

-ZiLi-


Maille Code V2.0 T7.1 R5.6 Ep Fper MAl Ws$ Cpbsw$ G0.3-6.4 I1.0-30.0 N28.25 Ps Dacdejst Xagtw S08 Hip

Human societies are like chain mail.
A single link will be worth nothing.
A chain is of use, but will break at the weakest link.
A weak weave will have the need to replace weak links.
A strong weave will survive even with weak links included.
-'me

Joined: November 22, 2010
Posts: 6
Submissions: 11
Location: Lima, OH

Reply with quote
Posted on Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:42 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

I absolutely love this feature. I can switch back and forth depending on whether I want to/have time to make my own rings, or use it as a quick reference should I need to purchase Anodized/precious metal rings from a supplier.

Thanks for looking out for "The Little Guy" Very Happy

Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Reply with quote
Posted on Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:02 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

ArmoredArtistry wrote:
I absolutely love this feature. I can switch back and forth depending on whether I want to/have time to make my own rings, or use it as a quick reference should I need to purchase Anodized/precious metal rings from a supplier.

Thanks for looking out for "The Little Guy" Very Happy


I love positive feedback Very Happy



Joined: April 21, 2009
Posts: 86
Submissions: 0
Location: Arkansas

Reply with quote
Posted on Tue May 17, 2011 7:11 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Oh, thanks so much! So appreciated. Didn't know you'd done this. Was collecting ARs for some stuff i'm making for a conference and was driving myself crazy trying to figure things out Smile

Just happened to run across the thread while looking for where to post an error I found.

Joined: August 30, 2008
Posts: 3054
Submissions: 20
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada

Update
Reply with quote
Posted on Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:56 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

Some of the more... Ridiculously Picky members (when it comes to choice) out there... Will be pleased to note that I have added kodiak's mandrels to the list.

Select them as "Charlie's Chaincraft Mandrels".
Note: This will assume "High" accuracy.



Post new topic Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Page 2 of 3. Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
All times are GMT. The time now is Tue May 21, 2019 11:39 pm
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> M.A.I.L. Help
Display posts from previous: