Selling maille on the internet
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Selling maille on the internet
Posted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:13 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello,

I've been making maille for a couple of years now, selling it to friends, friends of friends, friends of friends of friends, and I'm now wondering about venturing onto the net.

So far I've looked at Ebay, Etsy and the idea of creating my own site; but the latter seems a bit duanting, Ebay expensive, and the prices other chainmaillers sell their goods for on Etsy often seem very cheap: too cheap for quality hand-crafted goods.

Can anyone suggets any other avenues to explore? Or perhaps give me their thoughts/ experiences with Etsy, Ebay, or their own sites?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Submissions: 17

Posted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:20 pm

hi there

depends on what you make... if its armour then unfortunately you shouldnt be too keen on sites like ebay as there are many slave labour based shops that make chainmail armour and it is sold on there.
shame aye

unless of course you can persuade the customers its worth buying from you for that little bit extra for the quality of your work

Posted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:07 pm

what is Etsy? seen it mentioned lots on here, any link's i've clicked seem to be a photo album type website

"Hathor is the godess of fornication, intoxication and music..."
"So..... Sex, Drugs, and Rock 'n' Roll?"

Submissions: 50

Posted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:55 pm

Etsy is a website for selling handcrafted items, basically. They allow a few other things like supplies and vintage items, but it is primarily handcrafted items of one sort or another. Each seller has their own personal shop. There are minimal fees. It is NOT an auction site, prices are determined by the seller and are fixed unless the seller changes them.

You can browse listings by all sorts of methods. Just start clicking and see what you find Smile